Harmon School mat team largest in school history



Aurora -- During the first week of competition in the 2013-14 season, Harmon School's wrestling team competed in three events.

The squad went up against the toughest middle school program in the area at Wadsworth for a triangular that also included Cloverleaf, then traveled to Kirtland for a dual match and finished off the week at the eight-team Tallmadge Invitational.

Although the season is young, Harmon's largest-ever squad is setting records. At last count, the team had 32 members and is gaining new ones. Nine of 10 seventh-graders from last season returned and recruited eight of their friends for a total of 17 eighth-graders. Fifteen seventh-graders round out the squad.

Wrestling at 80 to 86 pounds are eighth-grader Kurt Nunns and seventh-grader Kyle Petersen. At 92 is seventh-grader Kobe Coachman, at 98 are eighth-graders Jacob Loudon and Drew McVay and seventh-grader Jimmy Soukdala and at 104 are eighth-grader Trevor Mitch and seventh-graders Nick Pascal and Justin Lovell, who have also challenged 110-pound seventh-grader Will McGhee.

Also contending at 110 or 116 are eighth-graders Max Keilin and Jett Olique, while 116 includes seventh-graders Zach Flynn and Sam DeVito and eighth-grader Sam Berryhill. eighth-grader Robby Albrecht could wrestle 116, but has challenged up at 122 with seventh-grader Paul Nugent.

At 128 are eighth-graders Nate Whitelaw, Chase Coady and Michael Sapp. Eighth-grader Ryan Scantland holds the 134 slot, while 142 has eighth-grader Nate Smierciak and seventh-grader Javonte Douglas, one of whom will wrestle 150 each match as long as seventh-grader Colin McNamara chooses to wrestle up at 160 along with seventh-grader Caleob Williams.

At 172 is seventh-grader Dante Leone. The biggest group challenges at 205 -- eighth-graders Montana Nietert, Mason Copley and Jared Carnevale and seventh-grader Blake Carnahan. The lineup is capped at heavyweight by seventh-grader Adon Tell.

Team captains are Albrecht, Scantland and Smierciak, while guiding the team are coaches Paul Frankmann Dave Keckan and Mike DeMay.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.