Heading Logo

Quirky family takes over Weathervane stage in 'You Can't Take It With You'

Published: August 19, 2016 12:00 AM

Weathervane opens its 2016-17 mainstage series with the Pulitzer Prize winning "You Can't Take It With You" by Moss Hart and George Kaufman on Aug. 25.

"This play highlights the story of a family that breaks all of the rules," said Weathervane Artistic Director Melanie Pepe. "The Sycamores live in joyful chaos despite the potential consequences, and the results are hilarious."

The Sycamores are no traditional family. When their daughter Alice wants to marry a conventional young man, Tony Kirby, the Sycamores treat Tony's family to an evening that includes tax evasion and fireworks. Can love triumph when these two families collide? Will Tony choose love over convention?

"What happens when you mix a pair of young lovers with a crazed Russian ballet instructor and pupil, a failed playwright and painter, a grandfather who keeps snakes and hasn't worked a day in 35 years, a father who plays with children's toys and makes fireworks, a paranoid xylophone enthusiast, and a pair of stuffy parents?" asked show director Fred Gloor. "The cast is outstanding, the show is perfect for all ages, and I'm sure that audiences will love the exploits of the Sycamore family. "

Gloor returns to Weathervane this season after directing last season's play The Lyons in the Dietz Theater.

[Article continues below]

"You Can't Take It with You" runs through Sept. 11. Tickets are available at weathervaneplayhouse.com or by calling the box office at 330-836-2626.

The cast and crew include:


[Article continues below]

Christie Hunka

Penny Sycamore

Kaylea Kudlaty

Essie Carmichael

Brandi Eaton


Scott K. Davis

Paul Sycamore

Jasen J. Smith

Mr. De Pinna

Joshua Larkin

Ed Carmichael

Zack Manthey


Lee Lavery

Martin Vanderhoff

Tekla Gaughan

Alice Sycamore

Timothy Kelley

Wilbur C. Henderson

Gordon Hinchen

Tony Kirby

Melanie YC Pepe

Gay Wellington

Ian Haberman

Anthony W. Kirby

Jeannie Clarkson

Miriam Kirby

Matt Blasio

G-Man No. 1

Ben Mehalik

G-Man No. 2

Harriet DeVeto

The Grand Duchess Olga Katrina


Fred Gloor


Will Crosby

Stage Manager

Susan Rusinoff

Properties Designer

Jonathon Hunter

Lighting Designer

Hazen Tobar

Sound Designer

Jasen J. Smith

Costume Designer

Jonathon Hunter

Scenic Designer and Technical Director

Kathy Kohl

Assistant Technical Director

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.