Heading Logo

College Notes-Feb. 1

Published: February 1, 2017 1:00 AM

Aubrey Heiskell, daughter of Joe and Carol Heiskell of Aurora, graduated in December 2016 from Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania. She earned summa cum laude honors with a dual major in early childhood education and special education and a minor in math.

Heiskell completed her student teaching abroad in Dublin, Ireland, at Bishop Shanahan National School. In January 2017, she began a long-term substitute position at Leighton School in Aurora as an intervention specialist for the remainder of the school year.

+ + +

Sarah Droder of Aurora, a graduate of Aurora High, was one of 327 students named to Denison University's fall 2016 semester dean's list by Provost Kim Coplin. Students must maintain a grade-point average of 3.7 or higher for the honor. Denison is located in Granville, Ohio, east of Columbus.

+ + +

[Article continues below]

Miami University of Ohio students who are ranked in the top 3 percent of undergraduate students within each division for the fall 2016 semester have been named to the president's list. Among them are Aurorans Robert Garrett, Scott Sutton, Leslie Rohde and Brock Nelson.

Making the dean's list for the fall 2016 semester at Miami for achieving at least a 3.5 grade-point average are Aurorans Sean Cullen, Mackenzie Baldwin, Lauren Hurley, Nicole Lucas, Valeriya Pavlova, Rebecca Raig, Jenny McGregor, Christine Broda, Ayla Cabi, Brody Miller, Richard Radis, Ian Socrates and Eric Bluso.

+ + +

The following area students were named to Ashland University's dean's list for the fall 2016 semester: Joshua Hauman (economics major, son of Michael and Barbra Hauman and 2013 AHS graduate); Adrianna Polasky (business management and entrepreneurship major and 2016 AHS grad); and Justin Wazbinski (marketing and supply chain management major, son of Robert and Leslie Wazbinski and 2014 AHS grad). Dean's list students must achieve a 3.5 grade-point average.

+ + +

Jeremy Rothstein of Aurora has enrolled at the University of Findlay for the spring 2017 semester. New students began their studies Jan. 9. He is pursuing a master's degree in education.

+ + +

The following University of Dayton undergraduates from Aurora made the dean's list for the fall 2016 semester, which honors undergraduate students achieving a minimum 3.5 GPA: Jenna Baechle, Matthew Gardner, Elizabeth Holecek , Alexander Kimes, Amanda Safko, Kevin Spisak, Samantha Miller and Megan Phillips.

+ + +

The following students from Aurora were named to John Carroll University's fall 2016 semester dean's list for achieving at least a 3.5 grade-point average: Dalton Browsky, Michelle Cheselka, Sammi DiGeronimo, Spencer Keglovic, Taylor McVay, Ryan Ovalle, Natalie Sharrotta, Cheryl Spice, Megan Stechler, Mackenzie Stojetz and Ivy Zhang.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.